Tenille Taggart is the 2015 Recipient of the Outstanding Student in Psychology Award


Please join the Department of Psychology in congratulating this year’s Outstanding Student in Psychology, Tenille Taggart.

Tenille Taggart is a Psychology major and a Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Studies minor with a perfect 4.0 SDSU GPA, who is a returning student, originally from Utah.

She has collected numerous honors including, Phi Beta Kappa, Phi Kappa Phi, Golden Key, Mortar Board, Psi Chi, and the prestigious Quest for the Best Award. She has collected several scholarships which include the Conrad Klement Memorial Scholarship, the San Diego Women’s Association Scholarship, Mortar Board Outstanding Scholarship, Leadership and Service Scholarship, the SDSU Undergraduate Research Mini-Grant, and the Psi Chi Research Travel Grant, among others.

Her service to the community and the department has been outstanding: She has been a teaching assistant (TA) for different instructors, in different courses. She is an advocate and an activist for mental health as well as the LBGTQ community. She has served as a peer-adviser and a trainer for peer advising for the last two years, and has worked as a peer educator for counseling and psychological services.

Tenille devotes her research skills to both the Center for Behavioral Teratology under the supervision of Dr. Jennifer Thomas, and the Youth Violence Research lab under the supervision of Dr. Emilio Ulloa. She has presented her research at regional and national conferences, and her research work has earned her several awards. She is a coauthor on several manuscripts currently under editorial review.

Tenille recently accepted an offer to attend the clinical psychology PhD program at SUNY Stony Brook.

Tenille has named Dr. Jennifer Thomas AND Dr. Emilio Ulloa as her most influential psychology faculty members.
This year’s competition was very close, and I would like to recognize the other eligible students who were nominated by faculty this year. Please join me in congratulating Dustin Abbot, Jessica Coleman, Sierra Cronan, Breanna Holloway, Symone McKinnon, & Duyen Trang. They will be recognized for their excellence, along with Tenille Taggart, at this year’s Psychology Awards Ceremony.  Please join us in celebrating their achievement at this year’s Psychology Awards Ceremony on May 16th, 2015 from 9:0011:00 AM in Storm Hall 012.

Thank you to the subcommittee of the awards and scholarships committee who did the incredibly hard work of rating the nominations. Thank you Dr. Claire Murphy, Dr. Rachel Haine-Schlagel, Dr. Jeff Bryson, and Dr. Georg Matt.


About the author


More posts by