We are proud to announce that Dr. Sarah Mattson, Professor in the Department of Psychology,  has been invited by the Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS), Secretary Kathleen Sebelius, to serve on the National Advisory Council on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism for a term beginning on November 1, 2012 and ending October 31, 2016.

The National Advisory Council on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism advises and makes recommendations to the Secretary, HHS; the Director, NIH; and the Director, NIAAA; on research program and policy matters in the field of alcohol abuse and alcoholism.

The Council is comprised of 15 members appointed by the Secretary and 5 nonvoting ex-officio members: the HHS Secretary; the NIH Director; the NIAAA Director; the Chief Medical Director of the Department of Veterans Affairs; the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Health Affairs; and any additional officers or employees of the United States as the Secretary determines necessary for the Council to effectively carry out its functions.

Of the 15 appointed members, 10 are required to be leaders in health and scientific disciplines relevant to the activities of the NIAAA.  At least 2 of these 10 individuals must be leaders in the fields of public health and the behavioral or social sciences. Additionally, the Secretary appoints five members from among the fields of public policy, law, health policy, economics, and management.

For more information visit the NIH website: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov/about-niaaa/our-work/advisory-council

Congratulations Sarah!