Moreno pointing something out on his poster at Student Research Symposium

Charles Moreno is a Psychology major and Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Studies minor.  He is originally from Seattle, Washington, and served in the US Marine Corps for four years prior to his undergraduate studies.

Charles has collected numerous honors including the SDSU Student Research Symposium Provost’s Award for Research and Scholarship (2016), Society Advancing Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans in Science (SACNAS) Travel Award (2015), Council of University Directors of Clinical Psychology (CUDCP) Diversifying Clinical Psychology Event Outstanding Research Poster Award (2015), SDSU Dean’s List, and membership in Psi Chi International Honor Society.  He has also received the Delbert F. Harrison Veterans Endowed Scholarship, SDSU Veterans Scholarship, and Jack McGrory Marine Veterans Scholarship. In addition, he is a scholar in the Maximizing Access to Research Careers (MARC) program funded by National Institute of General Medical Sciences and participated in Gerontechnology Summer Undergraduate Research (GSUR) funded by the National Institute of Aging.

His service to the community and the department has been outstanding: He is the Director of Mentorship for the Psychology Mentoring Outreach and Education (PsyMORE) Program, has served as an undergraduate peer adviser since 2014, is a student mentor for the PsyMORE program, was Research Coordinator for the SDSU Psychology Student Success Symposium (PSSS) in 2015, and was a Student Mentor for the Veteran Support Network in 2013.

Charles devotes his research skills to The Center for Healthy Aging and Neurodegenerative Disease Research (CHANDR) directed by Dr. Paul Gilbert. He has presented his research at regional and national conferences, and he is a coauthor on manuscripts in preparation for journal submission.

Charles recently accepted an offer to attend the clinical psychology doctoral program at the University of Florida.

Charles has named Dr. Paul Gilbert as his most influential psychology faculty member.

This year’s competition was extremely close, and the Awards and Scholarships Committee would like to recognize the other eligible students who were nominated by faculty this year. Please join them in congratulating Megan Mott, Juan Pena, and Amanda Whiteley.  They will be recognized for their excellence, along with Charles Moreno, at this year’s Psychology Recognition Ceremony.  Please join in the celebration of their achievements at this year’s Psychology Recognition Ceremony on May 14, 2016, from 9:00-11:00am in AL 201.

Sincerest thanks to the Awards and Scholarships committee for their incredible, hard work rating the nominations: Dr. Aaron Blashill, Dr. Jeff Bryson, Dr. Terry Cronan, Dr. Claire Murphy, Dr. Jillian Wiggins, and Dr. May Yeh.